Temporarily closed (2024-2025) due to restoration

The site of the Liermolen is located in the middle of the green Maalbeek valley. The buildings and surroundings invite you to discover the heritage.

There are milling demos at regular intervals in the milling watermill.

Baking is done in the baker's oven of the bakehouse during Atelier Bread, workshops and other public activities.


The classroom for, among other things, school studios and workshops

Natural play area with climbing and clambering course and water pump.

Provides shelter for winnowing and winnowing mill used during the Atelier Brood to separate the wheat from the chaff.

Beehive shelter
Here our beekeeping volunteers give beekeeper demos at regular intervals. Built during our first half-timbering class in 2019.

Animal pasture
Meet our goats.

Café Liermolen
Closed, this is being worked on.

Walking and cycling routes


Together with the municipality, we are working hard to upgrade the site of the Liermolen. In recent years, a beehive shelter and a winnowing barn, new plantations and a brand new baking oven have been built in the bakehouse. This year a climbing and clambering course was added.

But the major works on the site are still to come. De Liermolen received a restoration subvention in the Heritage & Tourism category and will be turned into a construction site in the coming years. The buildings are sustainably adapted and made usable with great respect for the past. For example, the barn will be used for all kinds of museum and tourist activities, the miller's house will be a heritage tourist accommodation and the café will be improved to meet current standards.

In short, the Liermolen will be a vibrant, green and accessible place where residents of Grimbergen and tourists can meet on the terrace of the café, at the playground and during MOT activities.


 the MOT, Location Liermolen - Vorststraat 8, 1850 Grimbergen
02 270 81 11 or


The Liermolen is a grain water mill on the Maalbeek. Originally it was owned by the de Lire family. In 1341 it was bought by Grimbergen Abbey. The current mill building dates from the 17th and 18th century.

In 1976 the Municipality of Grimbergen bought the whole and since 1980 the Liermolen has been protected and in use as a department of the MOT. The mill was thoroughly restored in 1977 and 2016, the bakehouse in 1987 and 2019. We organised a pop-up café in the summer of 2021. To this end, the MOT joined forces with local youth associations. After that, the café will be renovated and redesigned to move into the future sustainably. A public call will be launched to find a new concession holder for the café, with creative ideas that take into account the heritage value of the site.
Call for old photos
Do you have any old photos of the Liermolen and its surroundings? If so, give us a call, we would be happy to scan them.