DIY half-timbering at the MOT

Interested in the technique of building half-timbered structures and want to get started yourself? Then you've come to the right place! Since 2017, we have been organizing Wattle and daub workshops for adults, where participants can learn and practice all techniques involved. During these workshops, we were already able to erect two new half-timbered buildings at the MOT, the bee hall and the 'Wan-kot', a barn for winnowing grain, at the Liermolen. 


Clearly there is a lot of interest, because it is a fascinating subject in which many old techniques and knowledge come together. The MOT will further expand its activities in learning to build and maintain half-timbered structures in the coming years. As always, we bundle our experiences and knowledge on our website in this brand new project webpage. Richly illustrated with original photos and film material, it offers a fascinating insight into all kinds of aspects of craftsmanship based on our own realizations. 

In 2021, we will embark on an ambitious, multi-year experiment with the design and construction of a contemporary half-timbered workshop, in which old and new construction techniques are combined in an innovative way. During construction we will document all phases and make them accessible on this page. This project is financially supported by the province of Flemish Brabant. 

Keep an eye on this page to follow the updates. You can also subscribe to our newsletter (in Dutch) to stay informed of our progress.

Our half-timbered buildings

Barn Tommenmolen 

Bee hall Liermolen

Winnowing barn Liermolen

Master-apprentice trajectory

Colombage au MOT

La technique du colombage vous intéresse? Vous avez envie de vous y mettre? Dans ce cas, vous êtes à la bonne adresse! Depuis 2017, nous proposons un Stage de Colombage pour adultes, au cours duquel les participants peuvent acquérir et exercer toutes les techniques. C’est ainsi que nous avons déjà réalisé deux nouvelles constructions à colombage, le rucher et l’espace de vannage au Liermolen. 

Manifestement, il y a beaucoup d’intérêt. C’est un sujet passionnant qui marie techniques anciennes diverses et patrimoine immatériel. Au cours des prochaines années, le MOT va continuer à s’intéresser au colombage. Comme toujours, nous compilons nos expériences et nos connaissances sur notre site web, dans cette toute nouvelle page de projet. Richement illustrée de photos et de films originaux, elle propose un aperçu fascinant de tous les aspects du colombage, basé sur nos propres réalisations.

En 2021, nous entamerons une ambitieuse expérience qui s’étendra sur plusieurs années: la conception et la construction d’un atelier contemporain à colombage, qui combinera de manière innovante d’anciennes et de nouvelles techniques de construction. Pendant la construction, nous mettrons en images toutes les phases et les publierons sur cette page. Ce projet est réalisé avec le soutien de la province du Brabant flamand. 

Gardez un œil sur cette page pour suivre les mises à jour. Ou inscrivez-vous à notre lettre d'information pour être tenu au courant de nos actions.

Nos constructions à colombage

Grange à colombage au Tommenmolen 

Un rucher au Liermolen

Espace de vannage au Liermolen

Trajet d'apprentissage de maître à élève